“The wise rest at least as hard as they work.” – Rest Week

It’s safe to say we had been burning the candle at both ends, with our own personal commitments be it paperwork or our jobs. As well as climbing, we knew we were pushing our luck a bit but after I hurt my shoulder outside of the gym around 5 days ago we both knew it was time for a rest week.

This post going forward all be it short will consist of an update around things other than climbing but please feel free to indulge me and read on. So we are in the final stages of paperwork for my immigration documents which has taken quite some time. We’ve had family over, looked after my wife’s childhood dog Milly otherwise known as the “Furbaby”. To finish it all off Jael has had overtime at work just to ensure we were properly killed off.

This, of course, means we haven’t been on our arses. I’ve been running and we’ve certainly taken time to get on our feet and go for a walk. Just nothing too strenuous. I’m sure we could have ventured into the gym but the plan is always to go easy but temptation sets in and the sessions end up like any other! Hence we have stayed well away.

Obviously, with Christmas upon us, we’ve been looking at a few gifts for each other around climbing so in the coming weeks. we may post a little list of bits we shall be treating ourselves to. Whether it be shoes, clothes to climb in or things to help our conditioning and grip. I have my heart set on some proper climbing jeans as my Calvin Klein jeans although stretchy were not as durable as I had hoped and now have a hole in the crotch area. Although Jael isn’t aware of this yet. So look out for that post for a few ideas for your rock climbing friends and family running up to Christmas.

Otherwise to quickly rap it up. We took a hint from our bodies and knowledge from the wise man Mokokoma Mokhonoana “The wise rest at least as hard as they work.” Giving our bodies a chance to rest, physically at least. We are back climbing from tomorrow! a light session although from following our gym on Instagram I can see plenty of new routes to try so look forward to a plethora of new videos with plenty of sends and an endless amount of failed attempts!

I know there wasn’t much to this but I wanted people to know we hadn’t dropped off the face of the planet! As always thanks for stopping by any tips on our climbing, blog or otherwise are entirely welcome and we hope to see you again!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.